Welcome! Sign in to access your account. New user?

High School Teachers that paddle students

Paddling Students

Posted by josey24 on 2007-08-22 00:20:54

I am only in my second year of teaching high school chemistry. When I first started, I was against paddling students although the other faculty and administrators seem to encourage it. I was just out of college, 22 years old and looked like I was still 16. I noticed when the school year first started, the students seemed to take every advantage of me as they could. After 2 months in, I paddled my first student a junior, 16 years old female. I did not paddle her hard, I only gave her 2 swats. I think it was more embarrassing then anything, it did however change her behavior along with alot of other students behavior. The remaining of the year I only paddled 2 more students 1 female and 1 male that was goofing off and almost blew the lab up. We have been in school for 2 weeks so far this year and I have not paddled a student and I have not decided if I will. I do agree with the other post, I think that when a student knows they will get a paddling it does change their behavior. Especially in high school because it is humilating to the student.Maybe some other teachers can speak up.

Posted by Jimid on 2009-11-08 17:38:18