Welcome! Sign in to access your account. New user?

Corporal Punishment in Schools

Ouch

Posted by Rilian on 2022-05-15 09:45:13

Corporal punishment at school is no fun, it might work as a deterrent but it really hurts!

Posted by flash gordon on 2022-07-05 11:48:01

I never received corporal punishment in school but I spent a healthy number of hours sitting in detention after school. I always considered detention a lesser punishment than getting whacked. But I was talking to my buddy about it, and he experienced both while he was in school - corporal punishment plus a lot of detentions. He expressed a strong preference for corporal punishment over hours of detention. He liked the fact that it was over quickly and said it only hurt for a short time, while detention messed up his afternoon and dragged on and on. I hadn't thought of it that way.

Posted by atheistkid on 2022-12-27 21:55:02

I have a somewhat unusual perspective on this in that I am now a teacher at the same school I attended for high school. The school didn't use corporal punishment when I was there, but reintroduced it shortly before I started teaching. My impression is that overall discipline is better than when I was a student, and imposing discipline is easier because parents are less likely to protest a corporal punishment than a detention or suspension that would mess up their own schedules.

Posted by SharonSB on 2023-01-26 14:57:15

I got the slipper loads of times at school, it was really about the only punishment used, apart from the cane. In 5th and 6th forms we were often offered a choice of detention or the slipper. Nearly all of us opted for the slipper.

Posted by temilinrogers on 2023-09-23 20:23:30